Fallen Heroes

Let me tell you it as I recall. I'd gone over to the garages as Stan had an invoice for a bit of work I was dealing with. It was a saturday afternoon.
I went in and through to the office and there was Stan, right enough, but I could see things weren't good. He was standing with his back to the desk, explaining something to Eddie, and Eddie was looking none too pleased. I knew Eddie in this mood, and usually in meant watch yourself. There were three other guys in there. Eddie's nephew and two other bullet headed guys he hung about with.
I paused and made to back out, but Eddie quickly said, "you stay and hear this." And Stan continued with his explanation. I knew what it was about, and I knew that Stan had probably made Eddie aware of the risks he'd been running in this job as Stan knew his numbers better than anyone. But he was nervous, and gabbling, and I could sense Eddie beginning to boil inside. Suddenly Eddie wheeled towards me, "do you understand what the fuck he's saying?" I was on the spot: I owed Stan, but I couldn't save him here. But condemn him, I just couldn't do either. I still remember shrugging and saying, "he's making heavy weather of it".
"Heavy weather?" Repeated Eddie. And a slight smile passed over his face. "Yeah, that's exactly what he's making of it, heavy weather. Heavy fucking weather." Stan had stopped, a look of exhaustion and bewilderment on his face. "Ok" said Eddie, "I've heard enough of this shit."
And he turned back to me. "You come on down to Charlie's place tonight, ok? There's going to be some stuff we need to clear up, and we're gonna need a college boy." And he laughed at his nephew who grinned back. "Ok, you can fuck offski now."
I legged it out front, blinking into the sunshine. That was the last I saw of Stan, and if I'd known what I was getting into, it would have been the last I'd have seen of Eddie too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.