Melisseus

By Melisseus

Dawn Light

A sudden flip from icy mist and threatening clouds to blue skies and blinding sun. A flip as a fillip. I spent some time collecting hopeful images, no mid-winter blues for me: the first sign of snowdrops; honeyed stone walls in low, winter light with the moon in a blue, noon sky; a black-eye robin; apple-bark at sunset as abstract art; icicles on a steaming boiler; a gold sunset through winter-skeleton trees

This image was also intended as spirit-lifting. Sparkling frost on my prized lime-washed wall in the first dawn light - welcoming back the sun as the Druids used to do. Well, perhaps I'm not as solstice-proof as I'm trying to be. I look at this and Leonard Cohen's bleak words come to me:

A million candles burning
For the help that never came

I think the Greek chorus in the background of our lives is harder to endure in winter: four drown in freezing, dark sea while Westminster bickers about trafficers' business models; the macabre, pantomime dystopia of American politics; the normalisation of war in Europe; a laundry-list of forgotten conflicts and disasters; the drift towards totalitarianism; the ever-present ghoul of climate breakdown.

I heard a smug journalist interviewing an intensive-care nurse who had stood on a strike picket throughout this freezing day - asking her to justify the nurses' demands, when they are already better paid than retail workers. And she was so nice! I wanted to hear profanity and fury, but of course her patient, empathetic answers carried so much more power. Some good people bring help where they can

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.