CherryR

By CherryR

Where is that pesky snow shovel?

Having failed to find our snow shovel yesterday we resorted to a broom and dustpan to clear the doorstep. They didn't do a very good job to say the least. 
Today the drive had to be cleared to get the car out so we set off to search again. Still no sign. I appealed to my neighbours for help. 
Over morning coffee we discussed the fact that it was always kept by the garage door next to the bag of salt and being bright orange should be easy to find.
Into my head popped the word 'grey', 2 minutes later we located the grey snow shovel right where it should be.  In our defence there were several grey boat paddles in the same pile which had been moved around in the search, so it was somewhat camouflaged.
I'm sure we used to own an orange one. In fact I have photos of my husband wielding it in years gone by. I expect it has migrated to one or other of our children's homes.
As it turned out I didn't need to take the car out. I was due to drive myself and 3 other players to be part of the band at a community ceilidh in Aberfoyle about 15 miles away. The morning was largely taken up with discussion on our group Messenger Chat about the snow lying in Aberfoyle, meaning there was no access to the hall car park to offload the PA equipment. Plans for a work party to clear it were abandoned when it became clear that most of the musicians, included the man in charge of the PA kit were also trying to dig their cars out with varying degrees of success. We reluctantly made the decision to rearrange the date for January and hope for better weather then. 
At least the drive is now free of ice. It's hard to tell from the forecast what it will look like tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.