Family time

Today we celebrated our Christmas with my side of the family.

Manda collected mum early this morning and they all headed up to us. Meanwhile, I got up, showered and dressed then started in the kitchen. I made some small meringues and baked the mince pies I made yesterday. Then started on a roast dinner for 12. I had a piece of pork plus a large chicken, and an enormous pile of roast potatoes, parsnips, carrots, pigs in blankets, stuffing and swede and sweet potato mash. Plus lashings of gravy!

Our guests arrived before midday and we had coffee ready, and had it with the mince pies. They all admired Jon's handiwork in the kitchen. Only Manda had seen the transformation before today, so it was nice to show them how we have changed it since the last time they all visited, which was probably 3 or so years ago.

Dinner worked out well - we had laid out 2 dining tables in mums lounge next door, moving the furniture about a bit, and it just fitted us in. With my hostess trolley plugged in and also taken next door we were able to cook in my kitchen and transport it to the trolley to keep warm. We had a really nice dinner and I had cooked just the right amount of food.

The afternoon was kind of dominated by the football final, but once that was eventually over, we exchanged Christmas presents, played games and ate buffet food. Manda had made a huge trifle at Jon's request. It has been an indulgent day, but a lovely one. It is so seldom I have visitors, and the first time i have had the opportunity to cook for people in the new kitchen. The only problem as always, is space. Not enough sofa room for everyone, and nowhere to eat (conservatory is probably below freezing), but lucky I have a space house nextdoor to use! Much easier in the summer, as I have the conservatory space.

With a long drive back, Bruce, Manda and the children, plus mum, left at about 9pm heading for Ware. Thankfully it was raining so a thaw is on its way. Good news for them as they have suffered heavy snow in Hertfordshire which hasn't melted at all this week. So fingers crossed nicer roads for their homeward journey.

Jon has done an amazing job with the washing up all day, and we just have glasses left. A job for tomorrow as I need to go to bed now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.