pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Do

It was the work Christmas Do this evening.

Budget cuts had meant that our booked swanky do at the local golf club had to be hastily rearranged. With some funds scraped together, so we could still get together as one unit, we opted for a pie n peas night in the function room at the local snooker club. It was every bit as glamorous as it sounds, but good fun and nice to meet some new people who until now, because of working at home most of the time, I had only ever emailed.

Looking around the room also made me feel very old as I came to the shocking realisation that I was probably the oldest person there. Fortunately, another pint and a shot of black sambuca respectively dulled that sense and put some fire in the belly, which enabled me to get through until about 111pm when I asked LadyV to come and collect me as it was way past my bedtime. 

She’d been working until late and hadn’t eaten, so I treated us to some late night junk food as we curled up and chatted at hers before falling into bed.

It was a nice way to finish a busy week and simultaneously made me realise two things: firstly, that I was finally feeling better and secondly, how much I had missed her these past couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.