Around the World and Back

By Pegdalee

What She Is Worth

"Near. Far. Wherever you are,
I believe that the heart does go on.
Once more, you open the door,
And you're here in my heart.
And my heart will go on and on."

(My Heart Will Go On, Celine Dion)

This is a story my amazing husband Chris found for me today. He sent it to me in a card with the song "My Heart Will Go On" playing behind it. I'm not sure if it was the simple words on the screen or the powerful voice of Celine Dion that brought me to tears, but the combination touched me immediately. I wish I could put music to today's blip.

The story is by a woman named Silvia H. Elchaer and perhaps was translated into English somewhere along the way. It's a simple story that I've embellished a bit for today's blip, but the core sentiment is what touched me today. I hope you enjoy it, too.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
When God created Woman he was working late on the 6th Day. An angel came by and asked Him, "Why spend so much time on this one, Lord?"

The Lord looked up, winked at the angel and answered, "Have you seen all the specs I must meet to create her?! She must be washable, have more than 200 moving parts and function on all kinds of food."

The angel laughed, stepped closer and peered at the woman's slender arms and the long fingers on her hands. "What are these, Lord?"

"She must be able to embrace several children at the same time, give a hug that can heal anything from a bruised knee to a broken heart, and she must do all this with only two hands."

"Just two hands? Impossible!" The angel was skeptical. "And this is the standard model? Too much work for one day - wait until tomorrow, get some rest and then complete her!"

"I will not," said the Lord. "I am so close to completing this creation - she will be the favorite of my heart." The angel considered this for a moment as the Lord continued, "She cures herself when sick, and she can work 18 hours a day."

More curious now, the angel leaned over and touched the woman. "But you have made her so soft, Lord."

"She is soft," agreed the Lord, "but I have also made her strong. You can't imagine what she can endure and overcome."

"Can she think?" the angel asked, now clearly impressed. "Not only can she think," the Lord answered, "she can reason and negotiate."

The angel touched the woman's cheek. "Lord!" he cried. "It seems this creation is leaking! You have put too many burdens on her!"

"It's a tear," the Lord corrected the angel.

"A tear? What's it for, Lord?" asked the angel.

The Lord considered this for a moment. "Tears are her way of expressing grief," He said finally, then added, "A way of expressing her doubts, her love, her loneliness, her suffering and her pride."

This made a big impression on the angel. "Lord, you are a genius! You've thought of everything. Woman is indeed marvelous!"

"Indeed she is!" said the Lord. "Woman will have strengths that amaze Man. She will handle trouble and carry heavy burdens. She will hold happiness, love and opinions. She will smile when she feels like screaming, sing when she feels like crying, cry when she is happy and laugh when she is afraid."

The angel was quiet, listening. The hour was late. The Lord continued.

"She will fight for what she believes in," He said, "and stand up against injustice. She will not take "no" for an answer when she can see a better solution. She will give herself, so her family can thrive, take her friend to the doctor when she is afraid."

"But Lord, how can she possibly do all these things?"

"Her love is unconditional," He replied.

"Unconditional, Lord?" The angel waited for an explanation.

"She cries when her kids are victorious. She is happy when her friends do well. She is glad when she hears of a birth or a wedding. Her heart is broken when a next of kin or a friend dies, but she finds the strength to go on. She knows that a kiss and a hug can heal a broken heart."

And then the Lord paused for a moment, shook His head and His mighty shoulders sagged a bit. "There is only one thing wrong with her," He continued.

The angel looked puzzled. "What could that be, Lord?"

The Lord looked up at him with a hint of sadness in His eyes. "She will forget what she is worth," He said.

To my wonderful Mom; my sister, Gwynn; my sister-in-law, Jenny; my second mom, Carole, and all my beautiful women friends, may the angels continue watching over you today and always! Happy Mothers Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.