Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Bennybeg Craig

Out this afternoon with my brother & his dog Tara. We went to Bennybeg which lies on the main road halfway between Drummond Castle & Crieff. There's a very good Garden Centre there & one of those ceramic painting places for kids with added cafe. There's also a footpath that's popular with dog walkers. Its a while since I've been there & I'd forgotten about the Craig (btw, that is how it is spelt on the info boards). Its a cliff face that just rises straight out of the ground - since some of the notices are directed towards climbers I'm guessing its used as a climbing wall.

According to the info-boards its a Quartz-Dolerite Dyke. I'll confess that means very little to me. The fact that its 390 million years old might though. Apparently it was once embedded in sandstone but over time the sandstone has eroded. Seems its not an unusual feature on the east-line across Scotland.

But there it sits, a free climbing wall for anyone to use as they please.

I'm assuming that the Craig is what gave Bennybeg its name - presuming I'm correct in thinking that it comes from the Garlic (Gaelic, even!) for little hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.