inthepresent

By today10

Mama

My mother turned 93 in February this year. I am filled with gratitude to still have her in my life. I don't take it for granted. This photo of course was from many years ago. I love it because if you know my mother you know that she never fished. She was on the boat, but she insists that the photos of her with a fishing pole and holding a fish were staged! She loved to have fun, but mostly indoors and away from anything creepy and crawly. So, no camping for us as children. Haha. She afforded us every opportunity in nature, but often unaccompanied by her.
I started a practice last year of sending her a photo from the past every day by mail. I have scanned all my father's old Kodachrome slides and other photos - a treasure. Thankfully he took lots of photos. I have taken after him in this respect and have also become the keeper of the family photos. My mother loves to get mail and it has kept us close across the miles. I visit her once a month and wish I could be closer.
Here we are just recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.