Old tee-shirt from a time when I gained loads of them. Now destined for the likes of the bike cleaning duster pile, as it's too thin, worn, and has too many extra holes in it.

The last time I did that event was circa 1997, or '98. I'd have done the 10k option rather than the half or full marathons that start at the same time, and that would have been when I did my "PB" for that distance, 37 minutes and 37 seconds. Could've and should've gone faster, but fear of going too fast and then dying before the end had me easing back a bit, when I undoubtedly shouldn't have. Lack of experience and confidence. Didn't do a lot of running, and never classed myself as a runner. Had I done more and tried harder, I know I could've got that time under 35 minutes, but never had the desire or urge to do that... especially when I often had to cycle to/from where the events were, or 15 to twenty miles to catch and return from where I had a lift from. Good, and fun times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.