Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Another flurry of gulls

My last flurry of gulls blip was a couple of days ago at Par beach. Today there were thousands of them at Pentewan beach! It must be ‘gull flocking’ season!

I took photos with lots more hills in than this one, but then they look too small to see any detail. There are also a lot of them sitting on rocks in the dark part of this photo - bottom right. I like the way the flying ones are lit up against the rocks, and the others are silhouettes in the white sky.

There were quite a few people on the beach today - maybe they realise the village access gates will be locked for the next two weeks. They do it every Christmas, just when many people have time off work and would like a walk on the beach!

Before I went to the beach I had to do an ASDA ‘click and collect’. Never again! When you book a slot, the store must know how many people it can fit in per half hour. And how many staff they need. After 40 minutes in the queue I got an email warning me I hadn’t arrived at the time I booked! Their app you use to say ‘I’ve arrived’ wasn’t working, and they weren’t answering their phone. There were only TWO staff members dealing with the massive queue. When I left the queue was backed up beyond the roundabout on the main A390, causing jams on that main road, where traffic was trying to escape from Cornwall. While I queued I phoned the Asda central line to complain about them allowing so many slots to be booked when only two staff were working with the collections. I started the call when I was only 10 minutes into the queue. It wasn’t answered after 35 minutes, when I finally drove away and headed straight for the beach to try and erase the queueing experience!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.