lightscape*

By tolu

Ginger Crumblies

In recovery from recent ill health, I have had to cut all sugar (except for those in some veg) gluten and dairy (apart from eggs) out of my diet for a while!

As someone who likes her food to be full of flavour and colour this is proving a culinary challenge.

A challenge I am relishing however! (Scuz the pun!) I have always enjoyed cooking, but I am having to find a whole new level of creative, especially when entertaining.

I was expecting guests and wanted to have some little treats to offer, so I thought I'd have a go at making sugar, dairy and gluten-free ginger biscuits. Once I'd mixed a dough I was worried that they might be a little crunchy, so I added an egg which made them soft, rather more like cake than a biscuit (hence the name).

They are however, lovely and the perfect sweet, spicy accompaniment to a cuppa.

They even got the thumbs up from my guests (who had no idea they were dairy/gluten/sugar free) and from my greatest critic, Kai, who ate 3!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.