Christmas toys

We don't have any little ones in our family anymore, but the youngest, Henry, still got a toy this year! He had quickly mastered my old 3 x 3 1980s Rubiks cube, and now does that in a few minutes, and had requested a 4 x 4 version from Father Christmas. He has been working on it, on and off all day. It is challenging, but I'm confident he will get there!

We have had a nice full Christmas day. Lots of present opening this morning (I did have to wake up mum so that she could join us). Mollie baked a chocolate and puff pastry Christmas tree which we pulled apart and ate with coffee.

The morning ran away with me and dinner got later and later, but in the end we ate at 2pm in mums house where there is an accessible dining table. (Ours is covered in my work stuff, in a very cold conservatory)

We have just eaten a bits and pieces tea. Cheese and biscuits, prawn vol and vents, pickles, crisps - the usual thing. Now some games - Balderdash and Uno, while watching some essential viewing (Ghosts, Pottery Throw down, and Doc Martin - with Call the Midwife to watch on catch up)

I'm already getting that 'I want to tidy and put the tree away' feeling, but know I have to wait a few more days!!!

I think everyone in our Lower Gresham cottage has enjoyed their day. It's been busy, quite squashed in, but relaxed too....and the 'children' were happy with their toys!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.