red squirrel tales

By mmac

6.30 pitlochry

Half an hour later I set off.
Five and a half hours after that I crossed the finish line.
I kept getting the giggles at the feed stations when I returned to my mudguard, thick tyred, bell incumbered steed when all around me were flash 3gram speed machines.
But I flew past 3men on the climb at Logierait, and a few more in the last 3miles.
A fabulous day, with months of prep put in, saw me complete the Etape Caledonia. Great weather, stunning scenery, closed roads and the gorgeous sound of bikes on the road.
I discovered a new favourite sound-that of the pack going flying past. It's a kind of hum as they swoosh past
Not good for morale, but I found calf ogling a good distraction to that.
Lots of kind friends and colleagues have donated money to Marie Curie for me to do this, nearly £1300 so it was a great incentive to keep peddling.
Sports energy gel....another new discovery....Eurgh...but my word they work.
Same time next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.