I wouldn't have done it like that (part #) (EB)

Hopefully the last of my 'electrical blips'

The replacement oven bought from B&Q yesterday evening proved to be too big for the space - partly down to the way the gas hob (immediately above) had been fitted.  So, back to the drawing board, much scanning of fitting diagrams, and an alternative ordered from John Lewis.  It should be delivered next week. 

The electric feed to the original oven was another in the long series of
"I wouldn't have done it like that" installations*.
Just a length of cable appearing from a hole in the plasterboard, but with no termination plate on the wall.  To make it safe I've put this cooker switch and socket onto the end.  The ordered oven is just a 3kW load with a three pin plug fitted so this should be ok. 

It doesn't look much of a task but kneeling on a concrete floor, trying not to whack my head on the worktop above and get everything properly connected up was interesting to say the least. 

We are home now, and having the weekend off!

*for clarity - I don't think it was necessarily dangerous, correct sized cable, proper isolator switch etc, but not neat, tidy or in a state I could leave the cable end just trailing loose.
One of my ex-colleagues lives in the house next door - he's not at all impressed with the electrical set-up either, so I'm glad its not just me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.