....We Few, We Happy Few

By paul1332

And As I Face The Final Curtain

Despite the numerous tempting offers that poured in for tonight, I declined them all.

I really didn’t fancy performing with Sam Ryder on the BBC as we approached the new year. Nor was I tempted by the invitation to press the button to start the fireworks along The Thames.

So here I am, early doors in my spiritual home, beating the rush and now sorted for the next week.

If I was still writing essays, this would have been a year I would have loved to try & document. The hardest part would have been trying to get it under 40 sheets of A4.

Even as the year draws to an end we have even more historic moments presented to us. For those of us of a certain age Pelé was the ultimate footballer. The best way of explaining his significance to the younger generation, is asking them to imagine Messi, Ronaldo & Mbappe rolled into one & then double it. Even my mum knows Pelé & she knows nothing about football.

Then this morning we hear of the death of Benedict XVI, the first Pope to resign since Gregory XII in 1415.

We still have 8 hours left of 2022 so who knows what else will happen which will have us sticking our hand up asking for more paper? (Was it just me who disliked those kids with a passion?)

Bye bye 2022, you certainly kept us on our toes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.