"What Power Art Thou ....?"

On This Day In History
1818: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, or The Modern Prometheus is published

Quote Of The Day
"The fallen angel becomes a malignant devil. Yet even that enemy of God and man had friends and associates in his desolation; I am alone."
(Frankenstein's monster, Frankenstein, Mary Shelley)

Bonus Quote Of The Day
"I know not where is that Promethean heat
That can thy light relume."
(Shakespeare, Othello, 5.2.12-13)

I was dead to the world well before midnight (as is generally the case for New Year in Japan which is not a particularly exciting occasion) but, again as usual, I was a revenant to witness the first sunrise of the New Year.

May the Promethean heat burn bright in thy breasts, to give you fortitude amidst adversity and the zest to savour life's joy.

What power art thou?
Who from below
Hast made me rise?
Unwillingly and slow
From beds of everlasting snow!

See'st thou not how stiff
And wondrous old?
Far unfit to bear the bitter cold...

I can scarcely move
Or draw my breath
I can scarcely move
Or draw my breath

Let me, let me
Let me, let me
Freeze again...

Let me, let me
Freeze again to death!

The Cold Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.