Happy Hogmanay party

Jack and Katharine kindly hosted a dinner party this evening to celebrate the end of 2022 and to welcome in 2023. Mr hazelh, Jon and I were their guests. Jon took this selfie of us all at the start of the evening.

In the picture Katharine is wearing a lovely top that I admired greatly. 'I had one like this', I told her. 'Of course you did' she replied. 'You passed it on to me ages ago!' It took me all evening to remember the reason for giving it to her: the sleeves were too long for me.

Our hosts served a lovely meal of smoked salmon and cream cheese on home-made blinis, prawn cocktails, chicken cacciatore, and tarte tatin followed by an array of cheese. This was accompanied by Champagne, white wine, red wine, pudding wine, port, and whisky - although I should say that I (sensibly) stuck to Champagne and a little pudding wine only.

Between courses I led a game of 'Balder New Year' based on questions that I have devised over the past few days. Mr hazelh was the victor by one point.

Earlier in the day, Mr hazelh and I prepared some of the dishes for our own games and supper party tomorrow evening. We also played a couple of rounds of Azul. Mr hazelh loses this game to me so often that he thinks that I might be adding up my points incorrectly. So today he 'audited' my calculations. Of course, I know how to score! I'm just more skilled than he is at this game...

Happy New Year to my blipfriends!

Exercise today: small amount of walking (on painful toe).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.