Acts of deliberate notice

By Yaviere

Festival of the trees

Since we were staying not far from Bakewell it would have been remiss not to go on a quest for Bakewell tarts! 

I am pleased to say that the quest was successful, and that we also found fudge, liquorice, an apple and lavender latte, and the hitherto unknown (to me) Bakewell pudding. All were delicious.

The church in Bakewell dates from Saxon times and a display of old stonework in the entranceway shows a mixture of Saxon, Norse and Medieval carving designs. They were having a "Festival of the trees" when we were there and as you open the door the whole church smells of candlewax and fir trees. There were trees donated by various local organisations and the whole place was aglitter. Even though Christmas has passed now, it gave me a proper Christmassy feeling.

I nearly fled the New Year's Eve celebrations (loud drunk people and music that isn't to my taste tend to discourage me) but after a couple of hours sewing peacefully in our room, I went back to join D for the stroke of midnight. 

A very happy new year to everyone here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.