pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Build

For the first time in a couple of years, I didn’t wake up alone on New Year’s Day and instead had LadyV by my side poking me in the ribs and urging me to go and make her a cup of coffee.

It seemed fair as she’d sorted a nice night previously, where to see in the New Year, we ate a heroic amount of Chinese dumplings and played boardgames with her two girls. Neither of us were bothered about staying up until midnight, plus I’d broken the last surviving HDMI port on her battered telly so we couldn’t play on the Switch and so instead we retired to bed early.

It was a nice start to the New Year as we had a delicious breakfast together before heading over to Currys and picking up a bargain TV, which we set up together before I departed for home and to prepare for the re-entry of the wee ones (The Eldest having decided to stay with her mum a little bit longer).

There were lovely warm hugs all round and they quickly settled in by diving in to their Lego Christmas presents, before a picky tea in front of some rubbish telly wrapped up in the new dressing gowns I had bought them in the sales. 

I loved the fact that it felt like they had never left.


Thank you for your lovely warm words and kind comments on yesterday’s blip - it seems I need to get a new jumper!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.