Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Late to the party

In 2001, I was invited to visit a school for the blind in Graz, Austria. I made particular friends with one of the teachers there. We've been occasional correspondents ever since. She is a very talented lady and always makes her own Christmas cards. She occasionally has a stall in the local market where she sells her work too.
This year's card arrived today and as ever was a feast for the eyes. I felt it was well worthy of its place as today's blip.
I like the way that technology has reduced the size of the world and removed the barrier of distance. It's so much easier to stay in touch these days although I do miss receiving letters - writing them was always a bit more of a trauchle though. My friend in India and I used to write regularly, letters took about a fortnight, so it was usually a once a month exercise. I loved seeing that Indian stamp on the envelope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.