Mr Fixit - DYSON V6 Cordless Vacuum Cleaner

"This vacuum is hopeless, it picks nothing up" Marlane said yesterday. So I took the normal cover off and cleaned it out. It was full of lots of fluff, bits of glitter etc. It seemed to work then.
And today, "This vacuum is hopeless. Look, the brush isn't even turning". She was quite right but I'd already cleaned it 12 hours before.
I took the covers off again but found that the roller was, indeed, stuck fast and would not move at all.
I noticed that the screws holding the main covers (two of them) over the mechanism were TORX bolts, some people call them star bolts because of the shape of the slots. However, they are so small even my smallest TORX would not fit so I resorted to a very small flat head and got them all out, 6 of them.
When I got access to the actual moving parts, or not moving in this case, I found that I could force the larger wheel around but it jammed in one place. Couldn't see anything so had to resort to 'brute force and ignorance'. Brute force was levering the casing, around the wheel, to try to see inside, using a head torch, nothing to be seen. Ignorance was having absolutely no idea how to get it off.  A squirt of WD40 wouldn't do any harm I thought, and I don't think it did but that is why it is looking a bit wet in the picture. I didn't use any oil or grease as the belt is rubber, or maybe a composite.
There were 'pins' but they would not push in nor pull out. I think their only purpose is to hold on the rubber housing, the bit lying on the worktop.
After much levering, banging, twisting and moving the wheel with a pair of thin nosed pliers, another banging onto the worktop and it moved freely.
Still have no idea what was preventing it from moving but it's now fixed and working better than ever.
Interesting observation on battery life;
I bought a replacement battery only last week after the first replacement battery died on us. That one was was bought in December 2017 so lasted 5 years. The original came with the V6 in December 2015 so the original, Dyson, battery only lasted 2 years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.