PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Hasselt's Spiny Orbweaver

Gasteracantha hasseltii

Although I'm open to ID help if you think I'm wrong! It is disgustingly sweaty and hot today. Temperature around 35 C and Humidity over 85% ..... I was planning on trying to blip Chocolate in the pool today, but all I really felt like doing this lunch break was lying in my air-conditioned bungalow! This little horned spider has decided to build his web on my bungalow railing and I think he knew I wasn't wanting to head back out into the heat too quickly - hence his wonderful appearance for me today :) I still ended up soaking in sweat from the ten minutes I spent sitting on the stairs trying to get different angles though!

I liked this one best ... it's actually his butt!! I think it might be a male as the females have much longer horns from the brief bit of reading I've been able to do this lunch time. I think he'll stick around for a little while so I might be able to blip some different angles too! I know all you arachnophobic blippers probably won't be overly thrilled - but he's the size of my finger tip and way too cool to be scared of!

I think he's better large and you might even notice his horns are actually quite hairy! Hairier Horns

Thanks so much for all the stars, hearts and wonderful comments on my 300th blip of Misty and Rain yesterday. I'm not one for the spotlight but I did manage to hit it at 5am this morning - for the first time ever! So I'm just a little bit chuffed and I think it might even still be on the second page :) Misty and Rain give you all big boisterous thank you cuddles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.