One click at a time

By KeithKnight

May Challenge - News

Day 13 of DDW's May daily challenge - News

Many years ago "when I were a lad", I was taught a way to remember the points of the compass, if you looked at a weathervane or something similar from the right direction then they would spell the word "news". I never understood how this was supposed to help you remember, since it didn't work if you forgot exactly where you had to stand to get it to work. I just remembered that I lived in the south-east, which then told me where north and west were.

No suitable weathervanes in sight today, so have one of the things you would use a compass with - a map (and with which you don't need to remember where the points of the compass are - they're normally on the compass or the map!). One of my favourite spots in the UK - Lake Vyrnwy in North Wales.

It's always worth having a paper map with you if you go out walking - the batteries don't go flat on them, and they don't need a mobile phone signal miles from any coverage. If you are in an urban area you can always get a rough idea of where south is (north if you're in the southern hemisphere), since all TV satellites are stationed over the equator, the dishes point roughly south (or north in the southern hemisphere).

Blips now up to date - yesterday's is here and Friday's is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.