The Nest

"Faith is hope holding out its hand in the dark." - George Iles.

We had just enough time to spare on our way home from town to stop for a quick walk at Buffalo Run Park. Lucky me, I've been there twice this week. And every time, there is something to see. Last time, it was water droplets on everything after all that rain, and squishy ground for walking.

This time, the stars of the show were the teasels, which I adore, photographically speaking. They are fun for close-ups, they have interesting shapes and textures, and capturing a whole herd of them together in the wild, well, my goodness, how could a girl HAVE more fun?

I caught a glimpse of a bird nest in a spare and bony tree, surrounded by teasels, with a mighty fine yellow tree in the background, and I decided to go in for a look. There is no snow here right now, but the landscape of trees without leaves speaks pure winter; yes, it's January, and we've got winter socked in for a while.

But the bird nest, now, that speaks of the future. It speaks of springtime, and birdsong, and baby birds, and hope that life will begin again, when it is time. I picked this photo as a sign of hope, as nests always make me feel optimistic. I know it is all true, for the days are getting longer, I have seen a nest, and I have hope, and faith, that new life will come again.

Our soundtrack song is this one: Enya, with Hope Has a Place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.