CameraColin

By MrColinWilson

New York 1976 - Elliot Erwitt

I set up the camera and tripod to practice taking product shots of Soozys' creations but nothing was floating my boat so instead I dug out a book and took a photo of a page I wanted to share with you.

Often people ask me who is my favourite photographer and I can never answer, as there are so many great photographers who are giants in their chosen areas.

That said, this photo by Elliot Erwitt is the photo that I think I admire most and have looked it more times than I can remember.
It is from his book "DogDogs" which is one of the few books I refused to let go in our "clutter cull" a couple of years back.
I love the way Erwitt has in the briefest of moments captured this fantastic scene. The look of open-mouthed impatience in the man waiting to cross the road, which is perfectly mirrored in the dog waiting beside him as the cyclist, enters from the right. (I have blown up the two faces to show the uncanny resemblance)

It reminds me that great photography isn't about technical perfection, it's about seeing.
It can be seeing the extraordinary in the ordinary or seeing a humorous scene unfold or exposing the futility of the human condition, then inviting the viewer to see the world through our eyes for a moment.

Seeing is one of the reasons I like Blipfoto. The challenge of uploading a photo every day can be hard and I have uploaded some stinkers that would otherwise never have seen the light of day. But it makes me look at the world in a slightly different way. So thank you Joe for inventing it and thank you to the generous blippers who take the time to look and comment,

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.