Crimson chorus

Chorus in Red

crimson cardinal
before eight
bubbling, chanting
lilting bold notes from
his flashy red throat



If I can't capture the crimson hummingbird gorget( you can look at last year's blip), I guess I'll settle for this male Cardinal showcasing his songs this morning. I find our Cardinals usually quite shy, so this was a lovely morning surprise.

I was out early with the camera, joined by a thirsty chipmunk and Lancelot high above perched on his post looking for Guinevere. I put out jelly for the catbirds and watched the sparrows feeding their brood. I love these spring mornings.

We had this goose neck gourd as an autumn decoration a couple of years ago. It's mostly hollow and dried out. I cut a hole in it yesterday and hung it up. It didn't take long for the Nosey House Wren to inspect it. I tried to get the dried up insides out, but the Wren is working on the leftovers . They have last year's nest in another gourd, so we'll see. House Wrens love inspecting and wrecking other nests as well in their quest for the perfect home.

I just saw it carrying new sticks inside, so I think it meets their criteria.


For the Record,
This day came in cool and bright after a very cold night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.