Helwild

By Helwild

Dovedale

I was on a mission today! Having signed up for a photography magazine's online Camera School, I needed to take a landscape shot with specific criteria and upload it before tomorrow!

Landscape isn't my forte, I prefer more close-up shots, and having to use my camera settings, tripod, etc... seemed to make it harder. So I've not uploaded that shot here!! (It's in my blipfolio)

I went to Dovedale, which is only about 20 miles away from home, so I could experiment!!

I was all set up for my shot, when about 30 school kids plus teachers turned up and proceeded to go over the stepping stones - under extreme supervision!! It took ages, so I wasn't too impressed. It's not an easy spot to photograph without people as it's such a popular location - that's why I went during the week. Patience is what you sometimes need to take photos, so I just sat it out and enjoyed the scenery.

Anyway, I managed to get a few shots without anyone people in them - not entirely happy with the sharpness, but it's done now!

I then got back to my usual more relaxed way of taking shots, and wandered so far up the valley, until it started to rain! That was expected, so I'd already made up my mind to visit Ilam Park and Hall - lunch in the National Trust Tearoom, and a little wander around the park.

Got my lamb fix (not eating - taking pics!!), and there were loads of wild woodland flowers as well. A great day of photo opportunities - had a fab time.

This is a shot of butterbur (without their flower heads), which is everywhere along this valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.