Dreaming?

The morning just vanished, probably because I was putting off my shower, but I got myself together by early afternoon. And, at last, I got behind the wheel of the car and drove into Loughborough, the first time I've driven since 17th October. I'd begun to wonder whether I'd ever get round to it. More alarmingly, I had begun to reflect on how difficult it is to get around when you can't drive.

As we approached the vets, we found ourselves heading into a thorough deluge. The rain pelted down. Len collected the worming tablets for Basil - more fun for you tomorrow Basil - and then we aimed for the shelter of The Rushes car park. I'd given Len a list of things to buy, except he confused Extra Virgin Olive Oil for Extra light olive oil. Must amend that tomorrow.

By this time, the rain had cleared away and the sky was blue. We exited the Rushes and drove round to Sainsbury's where we could park the car and walk to the Baobab café. I had an excellent gluten free flat bread with authentic ham, sun-dried tomatoes, sweetcorn and houmus. Len had a Rocky Road.

I didn't make GF dumplings as intended to cook in the stew. Little point as Len was heading out to tennis.

Noticed this chap in the Baobab. His mode of dress and colour combinations reminded me of Michael Portillo. His clothes were good, his shoes were well polished, but he seemed so alone. Prince Harry's memoir was notably visible at Tesco. The display stand wasn't full. And the photo on the front cover struck me as if he was fading into the sands of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.