The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

Education.....

I graduated with a Masters in Organisational Psychology last year.   I did the course over 2 years, part time while I was Head of Tech for M&S store retail systems.  It was a slog but I loved the learning and the topic.  
I went to Birkbeck college which is part of the university of London and although the pandemic set in in term 2 (2020) the institution was so well set up to switch to distance / remote learning.

Steve bought me this book for Christmas and I do want to find the time to read it as the premise on which the college was founded was that everyone had the right to further education and it was about making learning and university accessible - 200 years ago when the colleague was founded a lot of people tried to shut them down and stop it.   Can you imagine?

It seems preposterous and then you look towards Afghanistan and the Taliban and you see basic education being removed from girls and women.

I am a firm believer in the right to access education.   

I'm forever grateful for the access I've had, and the support I've had.  I truly hope that the college continues to grow and offer educational opportunities to people in full time work looking to expand their horizons and that something changes in other less fortunate areas of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.