Melisseus

By Melisseus

Under the Weather

The radio said parts of Oxfordshire were -7.5C last night. I don't think we were quite that cold, but the kitchen was 15.5 for breakfast, which definitely requires a jumper or two

I don't think this is a snowflake, I think it's purely a product of water vapour in the air, and the cold, and has grown in situ. The west-facing Velux window was covered with a complex arrangement of different shapes and sizes. Are these designs determined by fractals? I don't know; I don't understand the physics of what is going on here. Why only on the angled Velux, not on the vertical windows?

I'm feeling rather off, so this is a short, diary Blip. The day was beautiful. I managed a bit of outdoor work then came in, lay down and zoned out, but I've had invalid tea of soft-boiled egg, soldiers, fruit puree and Abernathy biscuits, so I'll be fine tomorrow

From the paper, I have learned that, unusually, the planet has just had three successive years of weather governed by the La Niña climate phenomenon. The jaw-dropping point is that this has kept things cooler than they might otherwise have been. There is a 2 in 3 liklihood that we are going to flip into the converse El Niño behaviour. This may well push us through the 1.5 degree threshold (50:50 chance in the next 5 years) that is supposed to be a target we are trying to remain below. It will likely also increase the frequency and intensity of heatwaves, droughts and wildfires. Given that climate chaos is about extremes of all kinds, it probably also means more ice patterns on the Velux windows. No wonder I feel ill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.