WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Gathering

Still haven't managed to catch them airborne. These were just passing through ... they tried out the olive tree in the square, rejected it, and left.. It was a chance to try out my big lens -- I find it really hard to get sharp images with it and this is the only photo that survived. Might be better in large.

Another kind of gathering in extras. I went to Carcassonne to get my hair cut by a new-to-me hairdresser. I had a hard time convincing her to cut enough off, but she got there eventually. I'd seen the demonstrators gathering on the way in, and in fact met a friend on his way to join them,  but there were only a handful at that point. By the time I came out they were definitely into four figures and I realised they would be blocking the car park exit for a while, so I spent 20 minutes drinking coffee in a bar, by which time all was quiet.

These are nationwide demonstrations and strikes against gradually raising the official retirement age to 65. I know those in the UK will have their minds boggled by this. But French people are always ready to defend their established rights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.