Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Shopping!

Sunday today and so church. I sometimes wonder what my role there is! I wasn't on duty today, but I started by bleeding some of the radiators which were completely cold and full of air. I'd just finished when somebody came up me to tell me the hall heating wasn't working, even though, she said, the thermostat was at 25. As I suspected, the controller had been moved to'off' rather than'timed'. Why am I the only person who seems to be able to problem solve these things. I do find it extraordinary.
It was a lovely service but about half way through, I was called across the aisle. A lady had been taken ill and was unresponsive. Fortunately to my very great relief, when I was holding her hand and stroking her cheek while talking to her I felt her squeeze my hand. Within minutes she was talking quite normally. She may have simply become too hot as she'd lots of layers on and was sitting right by a radiator. She decided she wanted to stay for the service and as her daughter was with her did so. I gave her my water bottle and she had some to drink. After about 10 minutes though they decided she should go home so I came out of the church with them and ran her home. She's one of my favourite people in church. I was so very glad to hear she already had a GP appt for tomorrow. I've been in touch throughout the day, she says her blood pressure was low when she got home so that could well have contributed. Hopefully they'll start the full MOT process tomorrow. I can't tell you how relieved I was to feel that hand squeeze. Remarkably I got back to church in time for communion and nobody else apart from the celebrant had noticed anything was wrong!
When I was at coffee, someone came to me to tell me the church door lock was sticking, I worked out what was wrong. I think we need a locksmith though, still all is secure.
This afternoon I went to Ikea with Ali and Josie, Josie was checking out some storage for her room! I came away with a couple of rather pretty miniature phalaenopsis orchids at a very good price and full of flowers. No furniture for Josie though!
Watched the second last episode of His Dark Materials tonight, I'll miss it when we've finished watching.
Thanks for all your kind comments recently, I'm sorry I've not had much time to respond but I do read and think about your entries. I do enjoy our blip circle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.