Stage (permanently) at bay

This striking statue is in the grounds of the Green Park Hotel in Pitlochry, where Cathleen and I were staying tonight, guests of the local SNP branch whose Burns Supper I was addressing to deliver the Toast to Scotland.

The event was held in the Mid-Atholl Hall in Balinluig and there was a full house for a most convivial evening, very expertly chaired by the local MSP, my old friend John Swinney.

A departure from tradition, however, was the recitation by local resident  Zaneta Ulozeviciute of part of a famous Lithuanian poem , "The Forest of Anyksclai" by the 19th century Lithuanian poet Anton Baranauskas.  It was not only sonorous, but expertly explained and created a living link with that European country and with the threats it feels as a result of the war in Ukraine.   The persecution of language and identity by previous Russian occupation is still in the individual and collective mind of that nation.

My extra photo is a selfie of John, Zaneta and myself - two in national costume, but not me I am afraid though I was wearing my Dunollie Tartan tie, which is made from one of the oldest tartans in Scotland and which I referred to in my remarks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.