Still flowering

I can't believe that the temperature went all the way down to +8.3 last night! It's a bit damp, but certainly not cold - it was 9.2 when I looked out not long ago.

Sorting out photographs again this morning - hand-in for Competition 6 on Wednesday night and also for the Argyll inter-club competition known as the Frank Walton Trophy after its instigator, who owned the camera shop in Oban. I'll have a busy morning on Thursday sorting them all out ready for the judges!

I decided to go for a short walk after lunch, but while ascending the steps which go up from Longsdale Road to the houses above I saw a friend out in her garden with the dog, so called in for a chat with her and her husband which lasted far longer than I'd intended! 

It was getting rather gloomy by the time I got away, so I snapped a few bits and pieces including the cat over the road, so Elmo is my extra today. He usually avoids me and I could see him beginning to twitch as I went over to take his picture! Today's Blip is of a white form of Olearia phlogopappa, sometimes called Olearia stellulata, or even Aster stellulata, a dainty Daisy Bush from extreme SE Australia and Tasmania. I don't know if this is a named form, but apparently in the wild it's normally white, though pink or blue in cultivation. I brought cuttings with me from Arduaine and have two plants out on the drive bed. I'm surprised to see that they're still flowering after the frost and snow we've had. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.