WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Cheesy wonder

I don't eat a lot of cheese, and with S away the remains of the cheeseboard for our guests ten days ago have been lingering forlornly in the fridge. So I was pleased to stumble across a recipe in the Guardian a couple of days ago for "cheeseboard tart", addressing precisely this situation. And I had all the ingredients, no need to venture forth into the icy outdoor world.

Well, I can highly recommend it if you are the kind of person who tends to have a variety of cheese hanging around. It made a delicious lunch. See the gooeyness in extras. All from unpromising offcuts of tomme, Morbier, and some unidentified blue cheese. I liked it so much that I put it on my blog. Do not look if you are on a post-Christmas diet.

I wandered off to Norway for yesterday's soundtrack. Here we are back in Estonia with Arvo Pärt. We sang this in my choir a few years ago. If you are an alto you basically get to sing three notes for the entire 13 minutes. But it's weirdly hypnotic, for singers and audience both. At every concert there was a moment of stunned silence afterwards as people came out of the zone. And they are such typical eastern European harmonies. Be patient, there's an exciting bit at eight and a half minutes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.