FOUR FOOTBALLERS FROM THE PAST

Its been a dull day today - never brightened up at all. Not too cold though. I intended walking down to the village this afternoon but I spent too much time faffing about that by the time I was ready to head off it was almost getting dark.  As I didn't really need any shopping I decided to just stay in.

Did a bit of searching to find something to blip.  As its the 400th Tiny Tuesday the optional theme today is " anything related to 4 or 100"  Thanks to Pinkhairedlady for hosting.  As I had football on my mind I had a look through some of my late husbands cigarette card albums to find some cards of footballers which would fit with this evenings match between Southampton and Newcastle.  The cards show R Tomlinson ( Southampton ) H Clifton ( Newcastle ) J McIlwane ( Southampton ) and S Weaver ( Newcastle ) They were all players in the 1920's/1930's.

The match this evening between Southampton and Newcastle was the first leg of the Carabao Cup( League Cup )  semi final. I watched on my PC.  Newcastle were the better team in the first half and  did get the ball in the net - but the goal was disallowed. ( wrongly I think - but it was difficult to tell ) Southampton played better in the second half but it was Newcastle who got the first goal.  Then Southampton thought they had equalised  .... but their goal was disallowed.  So Newcastle go through to the second leg with a one goal lead.  Would have preferred it if they had scored more goals but at least they have a slight advantage when the two teams play again next Tuesday at St James Park.  I have a ticket for that match.... can't wait.

Steps today - 3,442

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.