Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Turnpike Mile Stone

THURSDAY

I had an appointment with a cardiologist at the Huddersfield Hospital in Birkby this morning and then to Costa afterwards.

This afternoon I took my car into the local garage for inspection as the pot holes and speed bumps have taken their toll on the front suspension. The proprietor said that he could fix it tomorrow so I decided to leave the car and I walked the 3 km or so home. I passed this Mile Post on the way. It has a Grade II Historic England Listing.

"Turnpike mile stone. Mid C19. Dressed stone and cast iron. Freestanding archheaded stone overlaid with triangular front and flat area above to arch reading from top left 'ELLAND AND SADDLEWORTH ROAD, GREETLAND OUTER DISTRICT: JUNCTION 10 MILES ROCHDALE 16 MILES' (on right hand) 'ELLAND 2 1/2 MILES' The letters are in raised capitals. For the Barkisland and Elland Branch of the Huddersfield and New Hey Trust."

10,628 steps so far today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.