Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

Spot, grab, hold, eat!

New Zealand native wood pigeon eating berries in a tree in the Botanic Gardens in Christchurch.

Scientific name: Hemiphaga novaeseelandiae, or they are called kereru, kukupa or kuku by Maori.

They are endemic to NZ.

They are beautiful birds, but not the most agile in the tree, so they just go crashing around, this one teetered on the brink of falling out several times, and looked quite put out about it!

Grey day, no light at all, lots of birds about in the trees, but very dark and well hidden.

Better in large?

Goodness, I see I've got a balloon. Three years, toughest three years of my life. Thank you to the Blip community, those who've looked at my journal, and left comments and critiqued, I've loved following your journals, and journeys. I've learned so much about the world, and photography. And now onward and upward to 4 years. Thank you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.