Marik_i

By Marik_i

J.L. Runeberg

Johan Ludvig Runeberg (1804-1877) is our National Poet who among much else wrote the words for our national anthem in 1848, 175 years ago. His birthday is on February 5th, and we celebrate this fine man's birthday by eating a cake by a recipe collected from Mrs Runeberg's notebooks. Each bakery claims that their recipe is the original. There is a lively discussion in the papers and magazines every year, and we ordinary people discuss the same matter on the phone. Next time I speak to one of my friends, I can tell that this variety I bought from my grocer's was "to my taste quite close to what I believe is the original that I used to have in Helsinki". :-))
I was early  with my cake this year. The day is a week from now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.