Way of Life

By wayoflife

Man

I went exploring in shitmachi again with the manager from my local bar. This time he wanted to show me some of deep Tokyo and its little backstreet bars and restaurants, and he didn't disappoint.

We went in places that I wouldn't wander into on my own, not because they are rough, but because there would be a Heineken moment where the pool ball stops of the edge of the pocket and the record player stops, and if my Japanese fails me (which is quite possible because accents get stronger when you move further out of Tokyo) things can get pretty confusing pretty quickly. The best place we went today was a restaurant place specializing in chicken. Their two most famous dishes are raw chicken with onions and chillies, and triple fried whole chicken, all washed down with big old bottles of Kirin. Man, we went rolling out of that place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.