Fun with raindrops

I'm not sure how I ended up with these colours - I just repeatedly tweaked warmth, saturation and tint. I've saved several versions, some more subtle and also pleasing, but this one is definitely the most fun. I started with a shot of raindrops and some reflections on a pane of glass left standing outside after our window replacement. It was supposed to be for Abstract Thursday, but I'm back-blipping it too late even for Ingeborg's Sunday deadline.

For our Thursday movie evening, J and I watched The Song of the Sea on BBC iPlayer. It's a beautiful Irish animation about the half human children of a selkie, with wonderfully drawn and coloured backgrounds and landscapes which were what I most loved about the film. It was made by the same team who made The Book of Kells, which we saw on television a few years ago, and the more recent Wolfwalkers, the third in their trilogy based on Irish folklore. The same studio, Cartoon Saloon, also made The Breadwinner, a beautiful and now doubly heart-rending film about the plight of girls in Afghanistan during the first period of Taliban rule. J and I saw it at the cinema a few years ago, and bought the DVD; I think it's time to watch it again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.