SilverImages

By SilverImages

Arthur's Stone

“Synchronicity is an ever present reality for those who have eyes to see.”
Carl Jung
Spontaneous (or was it?) decision to visit Arthur’s Stone, a Neolithic Dolmen just across the border. The electricians arrived at 9am and we have to be out to let them get on with it, so I need to be somewhere else..
Texted A to let him know I’d be in the area later then headed off, via the storage unit (to drop off the TV) and the recycling centre. It’s been many years since I’ve visited Golden Valley and today’s visit was a reminder of what a lovely part of the world it is. Dramatic too with heavy squalls blowing in across Hay Bluff in the distance.
Yet another example of Location, Location, Location on the part of the Neolithic dwellers, it’s on a fantastic, elevated position overlooking gorgeous countryside with the spine of the Black Mountains beyond. Poked around for a short while to get my photo and admire the workmanship, how they got the 25-ton capstone in place is beyond me. Unexpectedly there was another car parked at the site but no occupants, they returned soon after with a greyhound in tow. Had a quick chat, they were interested in me as a ‘foreigner’ (“beyond Abergavenny”) and told me there’d been filming there recently. As I was wrapping up and settling for a short meditation in the car another visitor pulled up alongside, occupants did a quick circuit of the site and were off. By the time I’d finished my meditation there was another car, and a farm tractor delivery hay to the sheep…getting busy
Headed for Peterstone to have a quick wander around the church, undergoing a fit-out for their community café and found another ex-pat from Caerphilly who wanted to catch up on life back home. She also mentioned the TV programme about Arthur’s Stone. I was about to leave when the access lane was blocked by a builders merchant lorry making a delivery, so I relaxed again for a short centring before heading off.
Arrived at A’s within the hour. First question, “did you see it, the TV programme?” He then explained the episode of Digging For Britain featuring Arthur’s Stone was on TV last night! The penny dropped. Intriguing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.