Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Gone but not forgotten

I met former Deli owner, Ashlea, outside at the deli picnic tables. She worked there for a while after she and Mark sold the place. She loved her coworkers and patrons but couldn’t get past differences between her and the new owner. So she quit and hasn’t been back.

We keep in touch and I invited her to join me there, sitting outside. She told me that she spends most of her days home, not doing much. Later, she sent me a text thanking me for getting her there. It helped.

Maybe I can convince her to take up photography as a hobby. She’s way too young to retire, at least without doing much, even if she doesn’t have to work. She felt like my sister. Maybe more like her mother. (Yikes!) I’m glad we’ve become friends.

Maybe she took to heart something I said to her after the new guy took over. I could tell she wasn’t really happy. I told her to find something that brings her joy. I didn’t make much money, but I popped out of bed every morning when I worked because I loved my job. It brought so much joy into my life. Living without joy is like never seeing the sun again.

I miss seeing her at the deli. She was my football foil. As much as I am a rabid fan of the Buffalo Bills, she is one of the Kansas City Chiefs. For those familiar with American football, you might be able to appreciate how much fun we had ribbing each other and making dumb bets. Imagine the good-natured abuse I would have been taking over the last month. Now I have to root for KC in the Super Bowl, as painful as that will be for me. :-)

I really like the photo I blipped (her hair is tied back). She posed for the last one, where I used a different technique. See extra. Wondering if you think I selected the best one.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.