Silly Saturday

My Editor thought I was very silly going out in the ultra-cold conditions this morning but I was determined to try to photograph some snowflakes. While we've been here, I've gone out every time it's snowed to try this, but each time until today the silly snow has been the "wrong kind" of snow - too wet, not forming proper flakes or turning to ice too quickly.

Anyway when I took granddog Oona out first thing for her "bathroom functions" I noticed that the falling snow was landing on my coat in lovely flakes, and they were staying nice for a long time. The weather conditions must have been just right.

Getting photos was tricky - we had so many things to bring for the family when we flew over here that I didn't have room for a proper tripod, only a tiny one which can only barely hold the weight of the camera plus macro lens + extension tubes. (I should have got round to following John Gravett's advice and got myself a Platypod!)

Anyway I was silly and stayed out so long that my fingers were really sore with the cold (in spite of gloves). I should probably have done more layers of focus stacking (these are done with 15 layers) but in the end I was reasonably pleased with them. Each flake is only about 2mm across.

Many thanks to KangaZu for hosting Silly Saturday this time, in memory of course of Admirer. If anyone would like to volunteer for future months (only the first Saturday of the month is a hosted Silly Saturday) then do let me know, it's great fun. (Many thanks to those who've already volunteered.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.