misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Bird Update

Here is a better and closer view of the White Crowned Sparrow. The window is not so clean but he wanted to look inside anyway.
A nice little flock of about 8 or so stay around eating every morning and evening. I'm not sure if this is just a stop on their flyway or what.

But, here's exciting news you've been waiting for: the Wren's House is fully rented for the season. I was out this a.m. riding the mower in the sunshine and singing a song when I was interrupted by someone singing a louder song. A lovely little wren sang, with his mouth full of insect, on the stubby branch just above the house. Then he popped down and fed the morsel to his lady love inside.
I have moved a chair in the lilac shrub within blipping distance of the wee house. Perhaps it will not bother him to have me sitting there listening to his song and catching him or her around the entrance?
The problem today was that the cats felt that they needed to help me! Really puts the Wren off. He flies back into the pines and sings warning songs... non-stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.