Savor

By savor

Requiem (3) of A Park Dweller

After asking his permission to take his photo...he responded with a voice that was surprisingly gentle and calm. He said "yes, of course." Taken slightly aback as I had braced myself for the worst...I had not expected such a gentleman. I took my shot quickly (so as not to disturb him for too long)...I smiled. A nervous smile, wondering if he could tell that I had made such an assumption and if my smile exposed my embarrassment. I said all that I could think of... I said "thank you". He nodded..I left noticing how at peace he was - as if he were sitting on a comfortable couch in a home with all the necessary accoutrements of a 'real' home, politely entertaining an uninvited guest who had dropped by to say hello. Homeless? I'm not so sure. I scurried home toward the Metro so I could get home take my mind off the world, put my feet up, browse the net, have a glass of wine...and relax.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.