pipflash1

By pipnat51

36/365 Pieta

As can be seen in St. Jame's church in Alveston, Warwickshire. It was my church when I was growing up and we lived in the parish. This is in a small chapel area next to the altar.

Of course the most famous pieta is one of four by Michelangelo and found in St.Peter's Basilica in the Vatican. It's a devotional image that first developed in 13th century Germany before being found in Italy, France, and elsewhere in Europe during the following century popularised by the Franciscans.

Pieta means pity in Italian and the sculpture is of Mary holding the dead body of Jesus. It's associated with not only pity but also compassion, suffering, devotion, heartrending, and faith. 

Well I've spent the last week blipping in mono to keep SandraSuisse company but can now go back to colour. However, I have always rather liked black and white photos but do accept that some subjects definitely look better in colour.

It didn't matter where I stood to take this I couldn't isolate it from it's background which included corners, markings, and peeling paint. I opted for a white vignette and used a soft focus effect preset in Lightroom to give it a mystical look.
 
Extras are of the church itself, inside and outside views.

Have a good week and hopefully today's sunshine is here for a few days x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.