Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Dabchick/Little Grebe

..call it what you will!

A beautiful day.  I spent most of the morning out with my camera, first in the reserve and later in the park because I wanted to find the black duck (sounds like a pub, doesn't it, but the black duck is quite a Winchester celebrity).  Well I did find her (and yes, I think it is female, she's well paired up already).  I will try to bring you a picture another time - this morning she was too busy sleeping and I got very cold feet waiting for her to wake up.  However, what should pop up in my viewfinder but this enchanting little grebe.  Interesingly in summer feathers, which seems a bit unusual for February but perhaps it isn't?

In extras is a diary shot for me of this morning's other real excitement.  In the reserve I saw the sparrowhawks mating, so hopefully that's game on for later in the spring!

Apart from that today's been washing, walking Hazel, all the usual stuff but taken at a leisurely pace.

Hope your Sunday's been a good one and that the week begins well for you  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.