The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

To the Blank Spaces

For longer than by now I can believe
I assumed that you had nothing to do
with each other I thought you had arrived
whenever that had been

more solitary than single snowflakes
with no acquaintance or understanding
running among you guiding your footsteps
somewhere ahead of me

in your own time oh white lakes on the maps
that I copied and gaps on the paper
for the names that were to appear in them
sometimes a doorway or

window sometimes an eye sometimes waking
without knowing the place in the whole night
I might have guessed from the order in which
you turned up before me

and from the way I kept looking at you
as though I recognized something in you
that you were all words out of one language
tracks of the same creature

-W. S. Merwin


My mind is a blank space as of late.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.