Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Seeking colour

A spell of decidedly overcast weather, combined with a distinct lack of local wildlife, means that the camera hasn't left my desk for a couple of days. Today the weather wasn't much better, but I went out anyway, searching for a splash of colour. 

As most of the local footpaths are muddy, I settled for a walk round the nearby village of Castor which has beautiful stone walls and a graveyard full of colourful lichens. A few years ago I could probably have named some of these, but I didn't have the time or patience to become seriously proficient, so never progressed beyond a few particularly obvious species. The golden lichens in my image are mostly species of Caloplaca, though there could be some Xanthoria too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.